What’s Hot for Girls?

Standard

Most girls will read just about anything. I know, as a child, I did! (See Creating Readers) While both boys and girls are excited about the Diary of a Wimpy Kid Series, girls are just as excited about the Dork Diaries, Judy Moody, and even Mercy Watson.

dorkdiaries

judy moodymercywatson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of course, Judy Moody has a younger brother, Stink, that both girls and boys like to read. The Stink series is a little easier and more for 6-8 year olds. Other characters that are fun (bad) are June B. Jones and Clementine. Why do they always like to read about kids that misbehave?

stinkjunieb

clementine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Girls will also gravitate to more serious subjects, especially if they are sad. Nothing like a good cry. Number the Stars is a holocaust novel that many of our students, especially girls, really enjoyed this year. I would recommend it for ages 10 and up. A Long Walk to Water is another wonderful and heartfelt story about a young girl in Sudan. Found is a Science Fiction series with lots of appeal.The Found series by Haddix has flown off the shelf all year as well.

numberthestars

long walk to waterfound-margaret-peterson-haddix

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I was going to add a section on dog books, because many girls love those as well, but I think that’s another whole post. If you have any favorites, please share them with me. Happy summer reading!

One response »

  1. I was very into holocaust fiction in middle school, I guess the suffering appealed to my suffering adolescence! There is a good Sharon Draper series, Sassy, especially for African-American girls. Her out if my mind book was also fantastic! I think I’ll do a Sharon D. post in my blog!l

Leave a Reply

