Baking Inspirations

Standard

wrappersIt really doesn’t take much to get me motivated to bake, but when these adorable cupcake/muffin cups arrived in the mail yesterday from Pick Your Plum  – my mind started working. It is, after all, spring break, and I did want to take some goodies around to some neighbors and friends. I had thought of making Snickerdoodle muffins, but these wrappers called for something with a bit more pizazz!

Since I still had the Snickerdoodle idea in my head (you do know that cinnamon has now been determined a health food), I looked around for a Snickerdoodle cupcake. I found a recipe (thank you Pinterest) at Skip to my Lou. The cupcake itself was delicious, but I made a bit of a change to the icing. You can bake right in these precious cups, so I popped one into each hole in my muffin tin and preheated the oven to 350 degrees.

cupcakeplate

 

For the cupcakes:

  • 1 package yellow cake mix
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter (mine was  just softened)
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Combine all of the ingredients for about 3 minutes. Do not over mix. I use an ice cream scoop to dip the batter into the cupcake  wrappers. Bake for 15 – 20 minutes or until the cake springs back when touched. Cool completely.

For the icing:

  • 1 cup softened butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • add 2 tablespoons of half and half and keep adding until you reach desired consistency

Cream the butter and slowly add in the sugars. (Drape a damp dishcloth over your mixer to avoid a cloud of powdered sugar.) Add the cinnamon, vanilla, and salt. Slowly add the milk, scraping the sides of your bowl regularly (and tasting often) until you get the right consistency. Pipe the icing on the top using a star tip. I sprinkled mine with a bit of tourmaline sugar and cinnamon.

cupcake

Since my cupcake wrappers were a little on the large side, the recipe made 16 cupcakes. You could probably squeeze 24 out of it in regular sized wrappers.

I’m off to share these with the neighbors, but I think I’ll leave a few to enjoy here at home. What a special treat on a beautiful spring day!

Leave a Reply

