Grandparents

Standard
Grandma "Mom" at her 100th birthday.

Grandma “Mom” at her 100th birthday.

I recently lost the last of my beloved grandparents. “Mom” was 100 years old and she liked for everyone to know it! While I mourn her passing, I can also say that she lived a rewarding life. She often told me stories of hanging out with her father at the train depot in Cope, SC. One of seven children, she cherished this time alone with her father. She had only one child, my father, Lewis. I remember her telling me that her tailbone was broken during childbirth and it was so painful, I don’t think she wanted that experience again. She truly doted on my father though. I remember being amazed at all of the report cards, toys, and photo albums that she had of him through the years. I have some of those things now and truly cherish them.

Each of my grandparents were special in different ways. “Mom” came to Charleston several times each summer to ferry one grandchild at a time (she was no fool) back to Orangeburg where we would spend 2 weeks visiting cousins, friends, and just spending quality time with our grandparents. I remember learning to play many card games with her, playing dress up with all of the clothes she had saved over the years, reading books, painting fingernails, and making banana pudding! I think that’s where my sweet tooth came from. Having my back scratched every night was a real treat too!

Her husband, Dan Dan, was a bit of a workaholic, but he had time for a game of checkers each night. He generally came home in the middle of the day for dinner, but rarely made it home in time for supper. We would fix him a plate and keep it warm. When he came in at night, he always had a treat in one of  his coat pockets (always a moon pie) that I would sit and eat with him while he ate his supper. He was a quiet, dignified man with a strong work ethic that he passed on to my father. (I think I got a bit of that too.)

On my mother’s side, I had “Gran” and “Grandaddy.” For most of my life they lived right here in Charleston. They were an integral part of my life spending time with us on the weekends, holidays, and, best of all, staying with us when mom and dad were out of town. Gran passed away my senior year of high school. She was a no-nonsense person that ran my father’s office with precise attention to detail. I worked for my dad for several years after she died and would often run across her neat handwriting on the folders of various clients. She kept Grandaddy in line as best she could as well. One strong memory that I have of her was when we were all camping together one weekend. It had begun to rain heavily and we were all packed into a small camping trailer, so we sat down to play a board game. Gran had on shorts and I remember looking down and saying, with astonishment, “You have beautiful legs!” Everyone got a good laugh out of that, but Grandaddy strongly agreed with me. I only wish I had inherited them!

Grandaddy was the storyteller in the family. He could really spin a good tale and parts of it were even true. Tales of his childhood would hold my attention for hours. I marveled at his ability to remember so many details. My  one regret is that I did not record these stories in any way and, while he enjoyed writing, he never wrote those childhood stories down. I have a picture in my mind of him sitting in my backyard telling a story to my two oldest sons. Their attention was focused on him and nothing else. I am not the storyteller that he was, but I do think I inherited a bit of his ability to make a story exciting. Grandaddy always made me feel beautiful, cherished, and appreciated. I spent many hours with him each week during the final year of his life and I wouldn’t trade that time for anything!

All of my life I took grandparents for granted. They were always there when I needed them and loving to a fault. As I look back, I realize just how fortunate I have been. Not many people even get to know all of their grandparents. I even had 2 great grandparents that were a part of my life. I am so grateful that I had the opportunity to learn from each of my grandparents and to really know them. I believe that they helped shape my life in many ways making me a better parent and a good teacher (librarian).  Quality family time, and lots of it, influenced my values and morals. I wish that I could thank each of them for being there for me!

2 responses »

  1. You did thank them by being a loving granddaughter and spending time with them. They were blessed by you, just as you were by them.

  2. Deborah…I think you honored your grandparents wonderfully. I’m glad you had the need to write it down and share it.

Leave a Reply

